VP Racing Fuels Bruce Rogers Memorial won by Craig von Dohren at Grandview Opener, Henn beats sportsman

Craig Von Dohren of Oley, Pennsylvania was able to take the lead on lap 47, after a multi-lap battle with Tim Buckwalter of Douglasville, Pennsylvania, and raced home with the win in the 60the VP Racing Fuels Bruce Rogers Memorial Money Maker anniversary season kickoff 60-lap feature race for Big Block/Small Block Modifieds Saturday night at Grandview Speedway. Von Dohren’s win, his first at the Bruce Rogers Memorial, was worth a whopping $10,060 and marked the seventh time he had won on Opening Night in the Grandview track’s history.

Jordan Henn of Kutztown, Pennsylvania was able to wrest the lead from Mark Kemmerer of Green Lane, Pennsylvania on lap 12 of the 25-lap TP Truck Equipment Sportsman opening night and earned his third career victory. The main event went green to the ladies with no booking and was over in just under seven minutes.

Jeff Strunk of Boyertown, Pennsylvania, Doug Manmiller of Shoemakersville, Pennsylvania, Jared Umbenhauer of Richland, Pennsylvania and Craig Whitmoyer of Hamburg, Pennsylvania finished in the top five behind Von Dohren in the Modified main event.

The remaining top five on Sportsman’s main roster were Cody Manmiller of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Jimmy Leiby of West Milford, New Jersey, and Dakota Kohler of Kutztown, Pennsylvania.

The Modified main event saw Buckwalter race to the lead from his starting position on pole and set a fast pace. The opening race soon turned fast and furious with Buckwalter leading a pack of cars that included Manmiller, Von Dohren, Strunk and Brett Kressley from Orefield, Pennsylvania.

The leaders soon entered lap traffic and had a real battle between themselves and the slower cars, staging a crowd-pleasing duel. By lap 20, Buckwalter was leading Manmiller, Strunk, Von Dohren Kressley, Umbenhauer and Bobby Varin of Sharon Springs, NY.

This battle was slowed down by the first caution for Kevin Hirthler of Boyertown, Pennsylvania on lap 21, who stopped with mechanical issues. The leading pack changed positions several times, including Von Dohren, who slipped back to fourth at the halfway point.

On lap 38, a caution for Ryan Krachun, of Branchburg, NJ., who was running hard and had started 19the and running sixth, a spin began for Von Dohren’s race to the front.

After that restart, he was able to pass Strunk for third, take Manmiller for second on lap 41, then track down Buckwalter and, after a multi-lap double, pass at turn two and take the lead to score the lap 47.

Several late-race warnings regrouped the field, including a flat tire for Kressley and a pit stop for Buckwalter, but Von Dohren survived it all to race home and win the massive $10,060 payday.

The remaining top ten places went to Buckwalter, who recovered from a flat front tire, Jordan Henn, who was pulling double duty, Nate Brinker of Macungie, Pennsylvania, Bobby Gunther-Walsh of Allentown, Pennsylvania and Kressley.

Kressley, Ryan Beltz of Barto, Pennsylvania, Varin and Brian Hirthler of Green Lane, Pennsylvania won the modified qualifying heats for all 44 available cars. Dylan Swinehart of Fleetwood, Pennsylvania and Brad Brightbill of Sinking won the consolations. Spring, Pennsylvania

The action in the main Sportsman was constant throughout the field throughout the race. Dakota Kohler and Mark Kemmerer were early leaders before Jordan Henn moved quickly to challenge from his fifth starting spot.

Henn put a lot of pressure on Kemmerer in heavy traffic once they reached the tail of the field and the battle for the top spot began.

Henn was finally able to make his move and slide under Kemmerer on lap 12 entering turn one. Once in front. Henn had to fight his way through the traffic, and he did very well, never letting anyone catch up with him, and raced to victory.

The remaining laps of the feature were an entertaining battle for the remaining top ten spots up to the checkerboard as Manmiller and Leiby had closed in on Kemmerer and put a lot of pressure on until the end.

The final roundup was Henn, Kemmerer, Manmiller, Leiby, and Kohler. The rest of the top ten was rounded out by teammates Logan Bauman of Boyertown, Pennsylvania and Dylan Swinehart, Brian Hirthler, Ryan Grim of Laury Station, Pennsylvania, and Matt Clay of Lebanon, Pennsylvania.

Kohler, Kemmerer, Bauman and Manmiller won the Sportsman qualifying heats for all 36 available cars. The consolations went to Matt Yoder of Benton, Pennsylvania and Kyle Smith of Fleetwood, Pennsylvania.

Next Saturday, April 9, will be the first points race of the new season, part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Racing Series featuring a doubleheader with TP Trailer Modifieds and TP Truck Equipment Sportsman starting at 6 p.m. The Gates. The pit boxes open at 2:00 p.m. and the grandstand doors open at 4:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand for adults is $18, while children under 12 are free.

Sunday April 10 will be the second program of the season for Outlaw Racing Series Enduro and Outlaw Racing Series Vintage riders with a double bill starting at 1:00 p.m.

VP RACING FUELS BRUCE ROGERS MEMORIAL MONEY MAKER BIG BLOCK/SMALL BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (60 laps): CRAIG VON DOHREN, Jeff Strunk, Doug Manmiller, Jared Umbenhauer, Craig Whitmoyer, Tim Buckwalter, Jordan Henn, Nate Brinker, Bobby Gunther-Walsh, Brett Kressley, Bobby Varin, Ryan Krachun, Brian Hirthler, Brad Grim, Jimmy Leiby, Kevin Hirthler , Ryan Beltz, John Willman, Ryan Grim, Duane Howard, Brad Brightbill, Kevin Graver Jr., Steve Swinehart, Ray Swinehart DNS: Dylan Swinehart

Did Not Qualify: WB James, Kyle Smith, Clay Butler, Mike Laise, Dan Waisempacher, Brad Arnold, Mike Lisowski, Eric Biehn, Kyle Weiss, Darrin Schuler, Doug Snyder, Jesse Leiby, Brett Gilmore, Steve Young, Ron Jaring Jr., Justin Grim, Corey Merkel, Mark Van Vorst, Joel Smith

American Racer Non-Qualifiers Cash ($250 each): Dylan Swinehart, Kyle Smith, Mark Van Vorst, WB James

  1. P. EQUIPMENT TRUCK CHARACTERISTIC FINISH SPORTSMAN (25 laps): JORDAN HENN, Mark Kemmerer, Cody Manmiller, Jimmy Leiby, Dakota Kohler, Logan Bauman, Dylan Swinehart, Brian Hirthler, Ryan Grim, Matt Clay, Kyle Smith, Mike Schneck, Adrianna Delliponte, Nathan Mohr, Michael Burrows, Kenny Bock, Jesse Landis , Colton Perry, Bryan Rhoads, Tyler James, Ryan Graver, Decker Swinehart, Matt Yoder, Mark Gaugler, Parker Guldin, Jesse Hirthler

Did Not Qualify: Wayne Rotenberger, Nate Horn, Mike Stofflet, Chris Esposito, Kyle Hartzell, Mike Myers, Zach Steffy, Michael Faust, Joey Vaccaro, Michael Cinelli


Saturday April 9 – TP Trailer NASCAR Modified, TP Truck Equipment NASCAR Sportsman – 6 pm.

Sunday, April 10 – Outlaw Racing Series Enduro & Outlaw Racing Series Vintage – 1 pm.

Saturday April 16 – TP Trailer NASCAR Modified, TP Truck Equipment NASCAR Sportsman plus 602 Sportsman – 6 pm.

Saturday April 23 – TP Trailer NASCAR Modified, TP Truck Equipment NASCAR Sportsman, Outlaw Racing Series Vintage – 6 pm.

Grandview Speedway PR