Long Beach Race Results: April 10, 2022 (Indycar Series)

Indycar results from the Long Beach Grand Prix

Today, the NTT Indycar Series races through the streets of Long Beach, California. It’s the famous Long Beach Grand Prix.

Check out the results from the Long Beach race for the Indycar Series below.

long beach menu
TV schedule | Practice/Cal | Race

Colton Herta and Josef Newgarden lead them to the exit. Next up is 85 laps of single-seater racing…

Jimmie Johnson injures hand in Long Beach crash (Video)

race report

Green flag, Herta is clear in the first corner. Newgarden and Palou race side by side for second place, Newgarden holding that spot by braking at Turn 6.

Lap 6, Dalton Kellett hits the wall after a block. He is stalled and the yellow flag is out.

Lap 20, Herta leads Newgarden by 1.5 seconds.

Lap 21, Alexander Rossi throws it deep by braking on Rosenqvist. They make contact, Rosenqvist gets a wide push and Rossi takes fourth place.

Lap 25, Marcus Ericsson has a race on Rossi for fourth place. He lunges to the inside at turn 6, clear. Moments later, Grosjean also moves for Rossi.

lap 30

Lap 30, Herta enters the pits from the lead of the race. Newgarden pits on the next lap. Newgarden comes out before Herta! Herta is on her bumper but can’t find her way past.

Alex Palou has overtaken them both with an even quicker pit stop. The team alone was almost 2 seconds faster than the Herta team, plus a 1 second faster pit-in lap.

Lap 35, Devlin DeFrancesco hits the wall and breaks left rear. He spins, but is able to return to pit lane, without caution.

Lap 50, Palou leads Newgarden by 2 seconds.

Lap 55, Palou pits from the race lead. Newgarden stays out for now.

Lap 56, Colton Herta is on the wall from 3rd! He locked up the front tires on corner entry, ran wide and hit the wall on corner exit. He leads him to a safe area, no precaution yet. But, there is debris all over the track.

Lots of cars rush into the pit lane, anticipating a precaution.

Lap 58, Newgarden reaches the pit lane. He closes right in front of Palou.

Palou launches into it at turn five! They run side by side, Newgarden stops him on the outside!

lap 60

Lap 60, Simon Pagenaud and Takuma Sato race side by side at turn two. They fight for space, hit pods, and Pagenaud has spun into the corner of the fountain. He steps on the gas and tries to drive over the fountain garden, but he gets stuck! Caution is out.

Green flag with 19 laps to go. Newgarden leads Palou and Ericsson. Ericsson is on the wall at turn four! Dixon hits him on the way when Ericsson goes off the road. Romain Grosjean takes over 3rd.

17 to go, Grosjean has a run on Palou. He gets ahead when braking but is out, Palou is in second place.

16 to go, Grosjean has another run at turn one. He looks out again and clears Palou before the corner! Grosjean to 2nd. Grosjean is the only car in this battle on softer red tyres.

15 to go, Newgarden crashes out of turn five! Grosjean pulls up next to him, but is stopped by Newgarden at Turn 6.

10 to go, Jimmie Johnson spins with the help of David Malukas. They both hit the wall and the neutralization is out.

Green flag with 5 to go, Newgarden leads but Grosjean looks out at turn 1. Can’t complete pass, Newgarden still leads.

2 to go, Newgarden leads Rosjean and Palou. Each is separated by only two car lengths.

1 to go, Takuma Sato is stuck in the tire wall, caution.

Josef Newgarden wins the Long Beach Grand Prix!

Long Beach Grand Prix
race results
April 10, 2022
Indycar series

post | Driver

1. Joseph Newgarden
2. Romain Grosjean
3. Alex Palou
4. Willpower
5. Duck O’Ward
6. Scott Dixon
7. Graham Rahal
8. Alejandro Rossi
9. Helio Castroneves
10.Kyle Kirkwood
11. Felix Rosenqvist
12. Conor Daly
13. Rinus Veekay
14. Scott McLaughlin
15. Jack Harvey
16. Tatiana Calderón
17. Takuma Satō
18. C. Lundgaard
19. Simon Pagenaud
20. Jimmie Johnson
21. David Malukas
22.Marcus Ericsson
23. Colton Hertha
24. Callum Ilott
25. Francesco Devlin
26. Dalton had to

Point Ranking

post | Driver | Points

1. Joseph Newgarden

2. Scott McLaughlin

3. Alex Palou

4. Willpower

5. Scott Dixon

6. Romain Grosjean

7. Rinus VeeKay

8.Marcus Ericsson

9. Duck O’Ward

10. Graham Rahal


Long Beach Grand Prix | indicar