Thoroughbred Incentive Program Announces 2021 Polo and Performance Award Winners – Horse Racing News

The Jockey Club Thoroughbred Incentive Program (TIP), which encourages Thoroughbreds to retrain for other disciplines after they complete their racing or breeding careers, has announced the winners and other places of its 2021 performance award program and awards. TIP/USPA polo annuals.

The performance awards recognize the Thoroughbreds who have accumulated the most points in all horse shows and cover a wide variety of disciplines and experience levels.

In 2021, 726 Thoroughbreds from 42 states and four provinces competed in more than 15,000 classes, divisions, and events. Division awards were calculated in 14 discipline categories, as well as 92 discipline divisions and eight junior jockey divisions. Category and division awards included the Green OTTB category for Thoroughbreds last run in 2019, 2020 or 2021, with generous sponsorship for these awards provided by Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA).

Winners will receive ribbons, cash prizes and a variety of prizes, including coolers, halters, bags, key chains and apparel. The full list of winners and entrants is available at

In addition to category and division awards, the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance (TAA) sponsored a performance award for horses adopted from TAA-accredited organizations, and the Retired Racehorse Project (RRP) presented awards to top-ranking RRP Makeover alumni. .

The winners of each category can be found below:

Category Name (raised in the state) “Display name”

Family tree

Rider Name (State)
horse training Hickeys Creek, Florida

2002 dk bay/brown gelding

Afternoon Delights – Slewadore

Ashley Miller (Florida)
Hunter Henry Eight (KY) “Pastly”

2011 bay gelding

Henrythenavigator–Piconeach (New Zealand)

Sabina Chambers (KY)
Bridge Super Garces (FL)

2012 bay gelding

Rock Hampton – Desdemona’s Dream

Jessica Brittain (New Jersey) Owner: Megan Mulvey
english pleasure


Halter/Model/In Hand

Crazy Man (New York) “Chocolate Delight”

2005 bay gelding

Western Borders – Big Fat Moose

Reba Merritt (VA)
Eventing/Combined Event hard work (KY)

2014 dark bay gelding

Broken Vote – Curve

Natalie De Pinto (MD)
Horse riding Wisper from Crypt (MD) “Maei Star from Crypt”

2000 bay gelding

Cryptoleen – Whisper to a Star

Khilia Giacobone (VA)
general Holy Brass (MN)

chestnut gelding 2009

Polished Brass – Conversations

Meaghan Zeiner (IL)
TCA Green OTTB – Last Race 2021 Sharp Clark (LA)

chestnut gelding 2013

Tiz the One – Cheese Dipper

Kaisa Gifford (WA)
TCA Green OTTB – Last Race 2020 Always lucky (KY)

chestnut mare 2016

First Samurai – Palm Beach Story

Kara Hertz (KY)
TCA Green OTTB – Last Race 2019 Bass Boat (IN)

2016 dk chestnut/mare brown

Knight of EZ – Gritty

Leanne Kohler (PA)
Endurance/Competitive Path Lightweight (New York)

2010 dk chestnut/mare brown

J Be K – The glow of the candles

Logan Williams (New York)

Owner: Lillian Becker

online horse shows Kisstheothercheek®

bay mare 2012

Outflanker – It’s in her kiss

Kelly Hart (Georgia)

To recognize Thoroughbreds who have excelled in a career as a polo horse, TIP and the United States Polo Association (USPA) created the TIP/USPA Thoroughbred Polo Awards in 2020. Applicants for the award must demonstrate how the Thoroughbred has made a successful transition and has excelled in his career as a polo horse. The winners of the second edition of the annual polo awards are the following:

Category Name (Raised in State) “Current Name”

Family tree

Owner Name (State)
high goal horse

Shel B Quick (BC) “Disney”

gray mare 2006

The Orchid Devil – Princess Vying

Jesse Bray (California)

Middle goal horse

Evil Fairydust (WV) “Hi-Top”

2007 dark chestnut mare

Run softly – Ersatz

Kerri Kerley and family (California)

Low Goal Horse

Sugar on the Grass (TX) “Pata Blanca”

bay mare 2012

Grasshopper – waiting for sugar

Robin Sanchez (TX)

sand polo horse

Itsa Fullmune (IN) “Carly”

Dark chestnut mare 2009

Eishin Masamune (JPN) – Rewind

Brady Williams (Texas)

lesson horse

Tonality (AR) “Panela”

gray mare 2013

Mr. Nightlinger – Gray Tone

Ignacio Estrada (TX)

“The USPA is proud to partner with the Thoroughbred Incentive Program to promote and honor the Thoroughbreds who are such an important part of the sport of polo,” said Chris Green, USPA Chief Operating Officer. “Thoroughbreds are excellent polo ponies. They are incredibly athletic and intelligent, and have tremendous agility, quickness, top speed, and stamina. In lesson programs, interscholastic and intercollegiate polo, in the arena or on the field, from the low finish line to the high finish line, Thoroughbreds are an integral feature of the polo ecosystem around the world.”

The performance awards will be available once again in 2022 and will be based on show results from December 1, 2021 through November 30, 2022. The deadline for submissions is December 20, 2022. forms are available at Applications for the 2022 TIP/USPA Polo Awards will be open from November 1 to November 30, 2022, at

Created and announced in October 2011, TIP recognizes and rewards the versatility of Thoroughbreds through sponsorship of high-level Thoroughbred classes and awards at sanctioned horse shows, performance awards, a recreational riding program, championship and non-competitive prizes. Additional information about TIP is available at and on TIP’s Facebook page at

The Jockey Club, founded in 1894 and dedicated to the improvement of Thoroughbred breeding and racing, is the breed registry for North American Thoroughbreds. In furtherance of its mission, The Jockey Club, directly or through subsidiaries, provides support and leadership in a wide range of important industry initiatives, serving the information and technology needs of owners, breeders, the media, fans and farms. He founded America’s Best Racing (, the broad-based fan development initiative for Thoroughbred racing, and in association with the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association, operates OwnerView (, the property resource. Additional information is available at

Paulick Report Icon