Day Four Finals Live Recap


Saturday Night Finals Heat Sheet

It’s the last night of the NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, taking place at the McAuley Aquatic Center on the Georgia Tech campus in Atlanta. While the Cal Golden Bears and Texas Longhorns have battled all week, the Bears had a huge morning that looks to give them an advantage in the team race in tonight’s final session. Tonight’s swim will feature the 1650 preliminary round followed by finals in the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, platform dive and 400 freestyle relay. Finals begin at 6:00 PM EST.

Team scores after matchday three:

  1. Cal: 320.5
  2. Texas 313
  3. Florida: 272
  4. NC Status: 214
  5. Indiana: 183
  6. Arizona State: 167
  7. Stanford: 169
  8. Georgia: 150
  9. Louisville/Ohio State: 108

Tokyo 1500 Olympic champion Bobby Fink headlined the men’s 1650 freestyle as the heavy favorite. by Cal Destiny Lasco then arrives as the top qualifier in the back 200 and may have a chance to retire ryan murphyNCAA record, set six years ago in this pool.

Cal has a second best qualifier tonight in sophomore Bjoern Seeliger, who hit a 40.75 in the 100 freestyle this morning to secure the top spot. Jordan Crooks and LSU of Tennessee Brooks Curry are both close behind after hitting 41.1 seconds this morning.

University of Pennsylvania freshman Matt Fallon was the only swimmer this morning under the 1:50 barrier in 1:49.03, but the 100 breaststroke champion Max McHugh hides in lane 5 after qualifying second in 1:50.31. from Louisville Nicholas Albiero and Georgia Luke screams will compete in the 200 butterfly, with Albiero seeded.

The session will end with the 400 freestyle relay, where Cal holds the top seed with a time of 2:45.95, just 0.01 ahead of Pac 12 rivals Arizona State.

1650 Freestyle

  • NCAA record: 14:12.08, Bobby FinkFlorida, 2020
  • NCAA game record: 14:12.52, Bobby FinkFlorida, 2021
  • US Open record: 14:12.08, Bobby FinkFlorida, 2020
  • American record: 14:12.08, Bobby FinkFlorida, 2020
  • Pool record: 14:29.43, Sébastien RouaultGeorgia, 2008

Top 8 graduates:

  1. Bobby Fink (FLOR-Senior): 14:22.28
  2. Will Gallant (NCST-Sophomore): 14:31.34
  3. Ross Dant (NCST-Junior): 14:31.72
  4. Jake Magahey (UGA – Sophomore): 14:33.53
  5. David Johnston (TEX-Sophomore): 14:33.61
  6. Michael Brinegar (IU-Junior): 14:33.76
  7. Brooks Fail (ZONE-5Y): 14:35.33
  8. Charlie Clark (OSU-Sophomore): 14:35.38

Florida Senior Bobby Fink, the favorite at the finish, defended his title from last year with a time of 14:22.28. While he was 10 seconds off his own NCAA and American record, he easily won by over nine seconds.

NC State took 2nd and 3rd places from second and second Will Gallant and junior Ross Dant, the two touching in 14:31, while second Georgia finished 4th in 14:33.53.

Texas earned a top-8 swimmer, with second David Johnston finishing fifth in 14:33.61.

In the first heats, it was Indiana’s Michael Brinegar who set the fastest time with a time of 14:33.76. Brinegar came out pretty quickly and Arizona’s Brooks Fail started to catch up for the last few hundred yards, but Brinegar was able to hold him off. Stanford’s Grant Shoults, swimming in his last collegiate heat for Stanford, posted a 14:38.18 for the third-fastest time heading into the final.

200 return

Top 3 graduates:

  1. Destiny Lasco (CAL – Year Two): 1:37.71
  2. Carson Foster (TEX-Sophomore): 1:38.77
  3. Daniel Carr (CAL-5Y): 1:39.06
  4. Kieran Smith (FLOR- Senior): 1:39.39
  5. Léon LacAlister (STAN-Junior): 1:39.67
  6. Jack Dahlgren (MIZZ- Senior): 1:40.17
  7. Bryce Mefford (CAL-5Y): 1:40.31
  8. Justin Grender (UVA- Senior): 1: 40.72

Destiny Lasco, the number one seed in this competition, won the title in 1:37.71. Texas sophomore Carson Foster came out fast and returned first in the 100, but Lasco passed him in the back half for the win.

Cal also had fifth-year Daniel Carr (3rd) and Bryce Mefford (7th) in the top 8. With those results, Cal now holds a 28.5-point lead over Texas.

Virigina’s Jack Aikens, swimming out of lane 7, won the B final in 1:39.26. Aikens was pushed hard on the last 25 by NC State’s Hunter Tapp and Kacper Stokowski but managed to get his hands on the wall first.

100 free

  • NCAA Record: Celeb Dressel (FLOR): 39.90
  • NCAA Meet Record: Celeb Dressel (FLOR): 39.90
  • American Record: Celeb Dressel (FLOR): 39.90
  • US Open record: Caeleb Dressel (FLOR): 39.90
  • Pool record: Celeb Dressel (FLOR): 40.46

Top 8 graduates:

  1. Brooks Curry (LSU-Junior): 40.84
  2. Bjoern Seeliger (CAL-Sophomore): 41.00
  3. Andrei Minakov (STAN-Sophomore): 41.09
  4. Matt Brownstead (UVA-Sophomore): 41.22
  5. Jordan Crooks (TENN – Freshman): 41.24
  6. Drew Kibler (TEX- Senior): 41.33
  7. Matt King (UVA – Sophomore): 41.34
  8. Danny Krueger (TEX0 Senior): 41.62

Jr. LSU Brooks Curry completed the sprint sweep this weekend, winning the 200 freestyle in 40.84. Curry used a masterful final 25 to get past the field and win on touchdown. Cal’s Bjoern Seeliger, who qualified first in the preliminaries, was 2nd in 41.00. Seeliger and Crooks nearly equalized in the lead at the halfway point, both going out in 19.2, but Crooks faded out of the last 25 to finish 5th in 41.24.

Stanford’s Andrei Minakov, who finished in 41.09, finished in the top three.

Harvard’s Dean Farris, who won it in 2019, won the B final in 41.42. He touched just ahead of Ruslan Gaziev of Ohio State, who finished in 41.56.

200 chest

  • NCAA record: Will Licon (TEX): 1:47.91
  • NCAA Game Record: Will Licon (TEX): 1:47.91
  • American record: Will Licon (TEX): 1:47.91
  • US Open record: Will Licon (TEX): 1:47.91
  • Pool record: Will Licon (TEX): 1:48.12

Top 8 graduates:

  1. Léon Marchand (ASU-freshman): 1:48.20
  2. Max McHugh (MINN-Senior): 1:48.76
  3. Matt Fallon (PENN – Freshman): 1:49.16
  4. Carles Coll Marti (VT-Sophomore): 1:49.69
  5. Caio Pump (GT-5Y): 1:50.61
  6. Caspar Corbeau (TEX- Junior): 1:50.79
  7. Reece Whitley (CAL- Senior): 1:50.83
  8. Daniel Roy (STAN- Senior): 1:51.17

Arizona State’s Leon Marchand won his second individual title of the meet, winning the title in 1:48.20, the second fastest performance of all time. He passed the Minnesota senior Max McHugh over the last 50, who was second in 1:48.76.

The fastest back half of the field belonged to Penn’s Matt Fallon, who finished 8th in the 100m but ran out of space to run over Marchand and McHugh.

Cal’s Liam Bell won the B final in 1:51.36, touching just ahead of teammate Hug Gonzalez. Notably, Gonzalez seemed to have a problem on his start, driving almost the full length of the body behind the court on the first out.

200 fly

  • NCAA record: Jack Conger (TEX): 1:37.35
  • NCAA Game Record: Jack Conger (TEX): 1:37.35
  • American record: Jack Conger (TEX): 1:37.35
  • US Open record: Jack Conger (TEX): 1:37.35
  • Pool record: Nicholas Albiero (LOU): 1:37.92